MTCC seeks nominations for 2023 Alumni Awards

McDowell Technical Community College is excited to announce that nominations for the third annual MTCC Alumni Awards program are now being accepted. The Alumni Awards program seeks to honor and recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions and exceptional accomplishments in their chosen career; significant contributions to their community and to the lives of others; and/or exceptional service in support of the college. The nomination deadline for this year’s awards is 5 p.m. on March 20.

“We are thrilled to recognize outstanding alumni who embody the spirit of public service, civic engagement, volunteerism and/or service to McDowell Tech. There are many who deserve recognition for their contributions to our communities, our college and their professions,” said Dr. Brian S. Merritt, President of McDowell Technical Community College.

“We began this tradition in 2021 of honoring and recognizing our outstanding alumni for their personal and professional contributions and commitment to excellence, and we look forward to continuing it for generations to come,” he said.

Alumni Then and Now

Recipients will be chosen in three categories of awards: Distinguished Alumni, Outstanding Divisional Alumni and Young Alumni. An “alumnus” is defined as a person who has been awarded a degree, diploma or certificate from MTCC sometime since 1964.

The Distinguished Alumni Award will recognize an alumnus who has served with exceptional distinction, has sustained, outstanding career success, and/or has earned a superior reputation within his or her career field, or made significant contributions to the college or to the local, state or national community.

The Outstanding Divisional Alumni Awards will be given to alumni from College Transfer, Health Sciences and Technical and Workforce Development programs for outstanding achievement and service in her or his profession, in civic and community affairs, and/or service to the college.

The Young Alumni Award will honor two categories of individuals: alumni 35 years of age or younger who have exceptional achievements in career, public service and/or volunteerism that brings honor to the college; and those who have graduated within the past three years who embody the late Dr. Dallas Herring’s system philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.” Herring was one of North Carolina’s earliest community college advocates and is often referred to as the “Father of the North Carolina Community College System.”

Previous winners of the college’s Alumni Awards were:

  • Distinguished Alumni Award 2021: Dawna Ledbetter ‘01
  • Distinguished Alumni Award 2022: Joshua Robert Dobson ‘03
  • Outstanding Alumni Award (Career and Technical) 2021: Shirley Brown ’85 and ‘88
  • Outstanding Alumni Award (Career and Technical) 2022: Andrea Hope Wood ‘20
  • Outstanding Alumni Award (College Transfer) 2021: Rodney Wheeler ‘00
  • Outstanding Alumni Award (College Transfer) 2022: Linda Roth Hamrick ‘09
  • Outstanding Alumni Award (Health Sciences) 2021: Sharon Davis ‘10
  • Outstanding Alumni Award (Health Sciences) 2022: Lauren Sylvia Sparks ’13 and ‘15
  • Young Alumni Award 2021: Samuel Ray Robinson ’16 and ‘20
  • Young Alumni Award 2022: J. Sean Fox ‘12

An Alumni Awards Selection Committee will review the nominations and award winners will be named at an awards ceremony on Monday, May 1st. The Selection Committee will be comprised of a diverse group of MTCC Trustees, MTCC Foundation Board Members, and faculty and staff of the college.

Current full-time employees, current MTCC Trustees, and current MTCC Foundation Board Members are not eligible for an alumni awards nomination.

The awards nomination form may be found on the MTCC homepage or by using the direct URL at .

For further information, contact Madalyn Gaito, Director of Development and MTCC Board Liaison, at [email protected] or 828-652-0630.