MTCC header students

2023 MTCC Honor Society Members and Departmental Standouts

McDowell Technical Community College announced today new inductees to the college’s Phi Theta Kappa and National Technical Honor Societies, as well as a select group of individuals who received a variety of departmental awards for the 2022-2023 academic year. Students were honored and received certificates in a ceremony Monday afternoon. A reception followed the ceremony.

“Our goal is to prepare job-ready graduates who are ready to enter the workforce or continue their education at the four-year college level,” said Dr. Brian S. Merritt. “These students have excelled in their educational or vocational preparation and will soon be ready to make a big splash in the job market or future academic careers. We applaud them for their discipline, perseverance and high achievements!”

Colton Tate Loftin with Dr Brian Merritt receiving NTHS certificate
Martin Chavez holding his NTFS Certificate
Ann Garner showing off her Outstanding Artistry in Cosmetology Award

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inductees

Emir Juarez Azpeitia
Scarlett Curtis
Christopher Dellinger
Eden Greer
Jasmine Griffith
McKale McKinney

Saige Patterson
Cooper Phillips
Carolyn Pittman
Jake Robinson
Mayra Rodriguez Padilla
Rebecca Silver

Kayla Southern
Parker Swart
Jordan Victor
Lillie Ward
Michelle Williams
Elizabeth Windham

National Technical Honor Society Inductees

Savannah Blair Adkins
Rachel Kaitlyn Adkins
Payton Ann Adkins
Angela  Arriola
Aethan King Rodrigo Ave
Arianna Chantel Bah
Brandon Shane Bailey
Michael Scott Banks
Dawson Lane Bartlett
Zachary Corban Beam
Laci Nicole Bivins
Terri Ann Blue
Heather Marie Burnette
Landon Scott Callahan
Isabella Alexis Catala
Martin Chavez
Evan Keith Clark
Haley Elaine Clark
Jessire Clontz
Cheyanne Elaine Condrey
Falon Renee Cornett
Raina Kayden Culp
Katie Brooklyn Davis
Christopher Jordan Dellinger
Emily Jade Denton
Michael Mueller Distler
Kennedy Anne Dobson
Jackson Earl Dowdle
Roshunda   Foster
Austin Gabriel Gass
Raelyn Cynthania Gay
Joshua Immanuel Gibson
Hazel Candace Good
Jasmine   Griffith
Jacob Allen Hanlon
Victoria Lynn Hensley
Abigail Leigh Hughes
Garett Dale Jornigan
Elizabeth Lakeleigh Ann Kasten
Madison Hope Kaylor
Andriana Aleah Kelley
Jesse Alexander Kramer
Mason Alan Kuykendall
Robert Logan Laurie
Colton Tate Loftin
Luke Evans Lytle
Sandra Maria Magana Cortes
Brookshire   Merritt
Marissa Ansley Miller
Daniel Thomas Mills
Hope Elizabeth Mills
Camryn Louise Morgan
Zachary Cleveland Morgan
Madison Taylor Padgett
Saige Alexandra Patterson
Cooper Stephen Phillips
Sherry Rena Poole
Allison Nicole Proctor
Dominic   Rajagopal
Claire Brielle Ramsey
Alina Soleil Rector
Rosalinda   Rico Cardenas
Jose Manuel Rico Martinez
Emilee Kay Robinson
Cierra Ann Robinson
Mayra Esperanza Rodriguez Padilla
Elizabeth Grace Russell
Gabriel Isaiah Sheehan
Andrew Ryan Shell
Erin Ashley Shelton
Thomas Calvin Smith
Taylor Dianne Stockton
Avery Michelle Swanger
Parker Austin Swart
Sarah Pardillo Tomada
Jason Dominick Twitty
Jordan N Victor
Emma Brooklyn Washburn
Malachi Wade Wilson
John Andrew Wilson
Isaac Ray Worley

Departmental Awards

SummerAlkireOutstanding Student—Nebo Crossing Academy
AriannaBahExcellence in Biology
BrandonBaileyOutstanding Student in Automotive Systems Technology
DawsonBartlettExcellence in Welding
DestinyBartlettOutstanding Student in Theatre
AbigailBrittainOutstanding Student in Computer Integrated Machining
AngelaBuchananExcellence in Healthcare Management
EmilyCannonOutstanding Student—McDowell County High School
TaylaCarsonPerseverance in Communication
JasminCazarezPerseverance in Communication
JanecaCerdaOutstanding Communicator
AdriannaCollinsOutstanding Student in Health & Physical Education
HunterColucciPerseverance in Psychology, Spring 2023
ThomasCrealExcellence in Cyber Crime Technology
DavidCruzPerseverance in Psychology, Fall 2022
JacobDellingerExcellence in Science
TimothyDeWeeseOutstanding Communicator
MichaelDistlerExcellence in Photography
JamilahDixonPerseverance in Building Construction
TerriGalbreathPerseverance in Communication
AnixiGarciaOutstanding Student in Building Construction
AnnaGarnerOutstanding Artistry in Cosmetology
ChouHangExcellence in Mechatronics Engineering Technology
JacobHanlonOutstanding Student—Home School
BillyHicksExcellence in Electrical Systems Technology
ColbyHollifieldAchievement in Engineering
IsabellaHyattExcellence in Psychology, Fall 2022
CharlesJohnsonPerseverance in Computer Integrated Machining
EmirJuarez AzpeitiaOutstanding Student—McDowell Academy of Innovation
VictoriaKirbyOutstanding Student—McDowell Virtual Academy
AubreyKuykendallExcellence in Mathematics—Precalculus & Calculus
JenniferLedfordOutstanding Communicator
AubreyLibowExcellence in Health Information Technology
ColtonLoftinOutstanding Student in Theatre
ColtonLoftinExcellence in English
GabrielMarshOutstanding Communicator
ReneeMassengalePerseverance in Early Childhood Education
MasonMcPetersExcellence in Electrical Systems Technology
BrookshireMerrittExcellence in Mathematics—Precalculus & Calculus
AbigailMobleyExcellence in Spanish
TaylorMorganBest of Program in Cosmetology
ToriOllisExcellence in Business Administration—Marketing
ToriOllisExcellence in Business Administration—Operations Management
ShanteaPackettExcellence in Work-Based Learning
CharlaParksExcellence in Graphic Design
ChloePhillipsAchievement in Engineering
ChloePhillipsOutstanding Student—McDowell Early College
ZackaryReesePerseverance in Communication
JustinRiceExcellence in Welding
MayraRodriguez PadillaExcellence in Mechatronics Engineering Technology
KaseyRodriguez RamirezOutstanding Student in Health & Physical Education
AngelaRumfeltOutstanding Student in Early Childhood Education
AndrewShellExcellence in Mechatronics Engineering Technology
RebeccaSilverExcellence in Office Administration
JoshuaSmithOutstanding Student in Machining
HeatherSmithExcellence in Psychology, Spring 2023
KaylaSouthernOutstanding Student in Theatre
AdamSparksExcellence in Mechatronics Engineering Technology
TonyaStephensonPerseverance in Communication
PaytonTeagueExcellence in Medical Terminology
DeannaToneyExcellence in Welding
NadiaTuckerOutstanding Student—New Manna Christian School
DonaldVessOutstanding Communicator
JessicaWebbExcellence in Office Administration
KennaYoungExcellence in General Chemistry
ATD photo l to r front Aprille Bailey, Dr Bo Bennett, Valerie Dobson, back Ladelle Harmon, Chuck Bowling, Dr Brian S. Merritt, Dr. Jonathon Howell, Stacy Buff

McDowell Tech Joins Achieving the Dream Network

McDowell Technical Community College in Marion, North Carolina is pleased to announce that it is joining a group of more than 300 community colleges that compose the network of Achieving the Dream (ATD), the most comprehensive non-governmental reform movement for college student success in the nation.

Read More »